4th week in Hawaii - Reisverslag uit Kailua-Kona, Verenigde Staten van Ellen Visser - WaarBenJij.nu 4th week in Hawaii - Reisverslag uit Kailua-Kona, Verenigde Staten van Ellen Visser - WaarBenJij.nu

4th week in Hawaii

Door: Ellen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ellen

04 Oktober 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Kailua-Kona

4th week in Hawaii -> 9/28 – 10/4

Here I am again with already the 4th blogpost! This means that I’ve already been in Hawaii for a month! Time really flies. I think of all the weeks that I’ve been here, this is the week that flew by the fastest.

Monday morning flew by because we don’t have bible lessons in the morning, instead we always go to worship. After worship I went back to the learning center to prepare for the biology lesson that we always have after recess. In biology we discussed the subject inferring. Inferring means for example asking someone for an umbrella, in that you infer that it might rain. Inferring was a very hard subject for Daniel and Angela to do because they are so new to the language, and they didn’t quite understood what it men yet. In the lesson they also had to do some assignments. With these assignments the children had to read a text, where a person infers something, and they had to answer some questions about the text. I took Daniel and Angela outside again to read the text and answer the questions. After biology it was time for ESL again. In this lesson the children learned a new story, with the story comes new vocab words for them to learn and use. After lunch I continued with cleaning the storage room. After work I went to the beach again and hung out with new mission builders. In the evening I went to the common room again to hang out with people.

Tuesday morning in biology we talked about the animal world. The subject we talked about was which animals are vertebrate and which are invertebrate. This was a subject that was easy to understand for Angela and Daniel. The children got a chart about animals in this chart was information about is the animal was vertebrate or invertebrate, where the animal live, and a funny fact about the animal. The children got all sorts of questions about the animal chart. Question such as: “which animals live in the oceans all over the world”? Later on it was time again for ESL. In this ESL lesson the children had to make rhyme words. After lunch I did some preparation work for the lesson tomorrow. When I finished work I stayed in the learning center to do some homework and I took the dinner van back to Hale-Ola. In the evening I played poker in the common room.

Before I knew it, it was already Wednesday. In the bible class in the morning we used comparing and contrasting to look at the same story, but the difference was that the story was writing by different authors. The children had to look at what the difference(s) were in the story and what was exactly the same. By doing this the children got to know what comparing and contrasting is. The last 15 minutes of the lesson the children had to make a puzzle that was about one of the stories. In biology we continued with the term inferencing. The children had to read a text again and answer some question about the text. I helped Daniel and Angela with the assignments, this time they understood what the term inferencing is. They understood it better because I used a different tactic to make them understand. In the ESL lesson the Korean children had to listen to and English song and the teacher wrote the words on the board. The children had to write the lyrics of the song in their journal so they learn to write English. After lunch time we (Marly, Stina and me) finally finished cleaning the storage room which I was very happy about. Finally it was time to go home. Got home did some laundry, fell asleep, woke up just in time for dinner. After dinner I went to the beach to swim and on the way back to Hale-Ola, I got some delicious shaved ice. Before I knew it, it was already time to go to bed again.

Thursday was a day that just flew by! As usual I had bible, biology and ESL. In bible we just continued with the chapter that we have been working on for the whole week. Nothing special happened in bible today. In biology however I had to be very firm with Daniel and Angela because they weren’t paying attention at all and they didn’t do their assignments resolved this problem by giving them a time limit for their assignment this worked like a charm and they finished the assignment within the time limit that I gave them, which I was very happed about. In biology we continued with the project from last week, which is the theme plant. The student have to write how a plant grows and what it needs to grow. The children had to do some cutting and pasting so that it becomes an information paper flower that tells you all about a plant. Because Thursday is project day, Angela and Daniel don’t go to ESL. What I like about the biology lesson on Thursday is that the 1st – 3rd grade students have to work together with the 4th – 5th grade students. They are paired up together so 1 1st – 3rd grader and 1 4th and 5th grade student. They learn how to work together this way. After work I was so tired I just stayed in my room watching a movie which was very relaxing.

Friday is always half day and farm day. In farm we had a lot of this for the children to do. We spilt the children up in two groups. 1 group were the 6th – 8th grades who would continue with building the flower boxes. The 1st till 5th graders were spilt up in groups of 3/4 so that they could change stations every 10 minutes. The 1st till 5th graders could cut weeds, move sand, plant plants, move compost, feed the pigs and sort out the sand and stone from a pile. After the farm it was time for library. Because the teacher that usually runs the library wasn’t there, I had to take over the library. It was really fun to do. I had to help the children to find books that were for their reading level, I answered any questions the children might have. Before I knew it, it was time for lunch again. After lunch I had a meeting with all the teachers. The meeting took an hour. After that we did some office work like coping stuff. Friday afternoon I went to the beach again. In the evening I had to pack some stuff because I was going camping in the weekend.

Saturday I woke up early with others to go to the car rental place to get the cars for our trip, this unfortunately took a little while so we started hour trip at 12pm. We went with 19 people in total on our trip. We started at south point where you could go cliff jumping. Some of us actually did some cliff jumping. I wanted to do it as well, but it was really hard to get back up to the jumping point so I decided not to do it. After south point we went for lunch at the coffee shack. We all had some pizza and we went on our way to our next destination. The next destination on Hawaii was the end of the world, which is the end of the island on the south side. So the only thing that you could see was the sea and the horizon. That’s why it was called it the end of the world. After the end of the world we drove for 2 hours to hot springs. On the way to hot springs we stopped for dinner. We arrived at the hot spring at 10 at night so it was really dark and we decided to go for a swim, which was absolutely crazy because we couldn’t see anything because it was really dark. There was no moon or stars. I can tell you I was quite an adventure especially the screaming girls, I really laughed my ass of in the water. After the hot springs adventure we went to the volcano at midnight. We went there at midnight because it is illegal to climb the volcano when we got to the volcano, it was raining so hard that I didn’t decide not to climb the mountain because I would’ve be soaked. Other people from our group did decide to go and they climbed the volcano which they had to walk to fro 45 min. They took some amazing pictures. When the group got back from the volcano it was already 3am and we drove back to the hot spring, which was a 10 minute drive from the volcano, so we could camp there. At 3.30 everyone finally went to sleep.

On Sunday we woke up at 8. We had a morning swim in the hot spring. After breakfast we left for the botanic garden. But unfortunately it was really expensive so we decided to go to the next thing on our schedule which was the Akaka falls. This was really amazing to see the nature in this way. Everything was green. I made some beautiful pictures. After the Akaka falls we went to Waipio valley. This was a lookout point. You could see the sea and a mountain. Next on the to do list was the Hilton hotel. This is a hotel for really really rich people. They have dolphins to entertain the guests, big swimming pool and it is next to a beach. The hotel is so big that the guest have to get into a little train which will drop them off at their room. At 6pm we went back to Hale-Ola to clean the car. After we cleaned the car we went for dinner. For me it was an early night because the last night I only slept for 4 hours so I was dead tired.

That was already my 4th week which means that I’ve been here in Hawaii for a month. See you next time!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Kailua-Kona

Ellen

Actief sinds 11 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 134
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2063

Voorgaande reizen:

03 September 2015 - 02 December 2015

Hawaii

Landen bezocht: