3rd week in Hwaii - Reisverslag uit Kailua-Kona, Verenigde Staten van Ellen Visser - WaarBenJij.nu 3rd week in Hwaii - Reisverslag uit Kailua-Kona, Verenigde Staten van Ellen Visser - WaarBenJij.nu

3rd week in Hwaii

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ellen

27 September 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Kailua-Kona

Another week just flew by like is was nothing. So it is time for my third blog post. I guess time really flies here in Hawaii. After an awesome and relaxing weekend at Kua bay (which the beach were I went on Saturday) it is Monday again.

On Monday there are no bible lessons because we all went to devotions which is from 8-9 am. In this hour we listen to songs. After devotions I went back to the trailer to prepare for the biology lesson. In the biology lesson we discussed what the children leaned in the previous week. In this lesson I went into the trailer with Daniel and Angela to learn them some new vocab words. And before I knew it, it was time to go for lunch. After lunch I prepared for the next lessons again. On Monday nothing special happened other than that the day went by so fast.

On Tuesday I started the day again with bible lesson. This week we started with the story of the farmer and the weeds. In this story Jesus tells a story in a form of a parable. Via parables Jesus tries to teach people morals. Which really was interesting to me was how the students figured out the message behind the parable. In the lesson the students learn the vocab words in the bible by making puzzles and in this story they had to do a little play about the farmer and the weeds. In the bible lessons in school I help two Korean children Daniel an Angela. Daniel and Angela are really starting to grow on me. Whenever I take them out of the lesson to explain things better, they actually remember the words better because when I leave them in the lesson with the other students, it goes way too fast for them to understand what the lesson is about. Especially Angela is starting to open up to me more and more. I can see that in the way how she always waves and smiles at me after school and even in school whenever she sees me she smiles and waves at me. After recess it was time for biology again. Daniel and Angela only have biology from 10.45 – 11.30 after that they go to a specialized ESL teacher to learn more vocab words. Because I only had Daniel and Angela for 45 minutes, I could only do one assignment with them. This assignment was about a volcano and they had to read the text and answer the questions about the text. What I always do with Angela and Daniel when I get text like this, I let them read the text and after they’ve read the text I summarize the text for them. After the reading part, I go over the question with them and explain what the question is about and I explain the answers as well. I give them keywords to look for and usually this helps them to answer the question better. After 45 min of biology it was time for Daniel and Angela to go to the ESL teacher. I got to do some preparations for the lessons for the next day. In the evening I hung out in the common room talking with people and them it was already time to go to bed.

On Wednesday in bible lesson we continued with the story of the farmer and the weeds. In this lesson the children had to make the costumes from paper. They needed to do this because they were going to perform the story of the farmer and the weeds on Friday in front of the 1st – 3rd grade children. The children were really excited to do this because it was something active they could do. This preparing for the performance for Friday took the entire lesson. After the bible lesson I had a meeting with one of the teachers that teaches biology on what we were going to do in the lesson. This lesson was about cause and effect. The student had to read a text about cause and effect. After the reading part the children had to answer some questions about the test. The questions were about what was the effect was of the cause that was explained in the text. Because I help two Korean children I read the text with them separately. I let them read the text first and after the text I summarized for them what the text was about. I helped Daniel and Angela to understand the questions, this is needed because the language barrier is at the moment to big. After biology the Korean children went to a special ESL teacher who helps them with the English language. They work on their vocab and speaking in these lessons. After lunch I did some preparations for the lessons for the next day. The preparing part is mostly copying of texts and making answer sheets for the assignment the children need to do. In the evening I went to the pier with some other mission builders to see the sunset and get some shaved ice (which is ice that is shaved and you can put any kind of flavor on it like vanilla, mango and passion fruit).

On Thursday in bible class they made the props for the mini act that they are going to do for the 1st – 3rd grade students. The children got assigned a role to play and the had to make a prop for that. For example, if you had to play the bird in this story, you had to make a prop that has something to do with birds. These preparations took the whole lesson. After the bible lesson I worked on a project for biology. In this project we had to make an information flower. The children for example have to fill in what photosynthesis is and how plant eat. In biology we went on with the subject cause and effect. The teacher had another text about cause and effect and the children had to answer some questions about the text. I took the Korean children Angela and Daniel outside of the class again to go over the text. After biology it was time for ESL again. This time we went to the boutique (the boutique is basically a second hand shop on the campus, people can leave their stuff there if they don’t want to bring it back home with them). The children could pick out one thing they would like to write/talk about in the ESL class. In the lesson itself we talked about the thing the children took from the boutique. They learned new vocab words and they got to practice their speech. After lunch I cleaned out a storage room. All the math book needed to go somewhere out. It took the whole afternoon just to get a quarter of the room sorted. After work I went back to Hale-Ola (the place we sleep) to meet up with some mission builders to go to the beach. In the evening 50 more mission builders arrived from all over the world. I was fun to meet some new people but is they were with too many to remember their names.

On Friday I had a half day of school. So I only had bible, farm and library. In the bible lesson the 4th and 5th graders performed their little play about the farmer and the weeds for the 1st till 3rd grade students. This play was fun for both parties. The rehearsal and the play itself took the whole lesson. After bible we went to the farm where we got spilt up into three groups. Group one were the 1st till 3rd graders who went to plant some plants. The second group was the 4th and 5th graders who went to make a sleeping place for the worms and later on they put the worms in sleeping place. The third group were the 6th till 8th graders who made the flower box for the 1st till the 3rd graders plants. The children really love the farm they get to learn all kinds of things about farm life. After farm the children had a break for about 15 minutes before library started. In library the children have to pick out a book the want to read to improve their reading skills. The children can have up until three books to take home. Later on I had lunch and after lunch we had a meeting about hospitality. When I got back to Hale-Ola, we went to the beach and we met a lot of new mission builders. We stayed until it got dark, got back to Hale-Ola to shower and went to dinner. In the evening I had some shaved ice again which was delicious. The rest of the evening I spent my time at the daylight mind (which is a place where you could have a drink in the evening).

On Saturday we went to Kua Bay with all the mission builders. This was so that we could get to know each other more. I talked to a lot of new people. It turned out that we now have 104 mission builders, which is a lot. In the evening I went to the common room to watch a movie with some other mission builders. On Sunday I slept in and did my laundry and went to the beach.

New vocab words:
• Caption - a short piece of text under a picture in a book, magazine or newspaper which describes the picture or explains what the people in it are doing or saying
• Glossary - an alphabetical list, with meanings, of the words or phrases in a text that are difficult to understand.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Kailua-Kona

Ellen

Actief sinds 11 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 117
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2068

Voorgaande reizen:

03 September 2015 - 02 December 2015

Hawaii

Landen bezocht: